52-’11 / Week Two / January 9-15

Do you see what I see?

When you look at me, or think of me, do you see the rough, broken, struggling soul that is me? Sometimes, when I look in a mirror, or the mirror of my soul, or the trail of life I leave in my wake, all I see is what a poor offering it is. Often my life doesn’t feel like a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God. It feels like, looks like, is, filthy rags. This skewed perspective is what happens when I lose my Focus, when my sights are not set on the One Who knows, not just my name, but the hairs on my head and the future of my life. He is the One Who thought I ~ and you ~ were worth sending His Son.

He sees me as His masterpiece.

“For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so we would walk in them.” ~Ephesians 2:10

When the snow came this week and blanketed the earth with pristine beauty, covering all the darkness, the imperfection, I was reminded of how God see us — through the veil of the righteousness of our High Priest, Jesus, Whose sacrifice was enough, Who covered us with His love, Who makes intercession for us before His Father, our God and Father. It was a change of perspective, seeing from the pure side, the bright and lovely side.

It is my joy to pursue Him, to strive to be like Him, to radiate Him to all the world and to those around me, and to guide those still seeking to the One Whose sacrifice was for them too.

"Rough Edges", copyright 2011 Shannon M Herren, All Rights Reserved

"Rough Edges", copyright 2011 Shannon M Herren, All Rights Reserved

So I ask you for grace. Grace to cover the rough edges, and the raw new growth emerging, and the shedding of the old way.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things have passed away; behold, new things have come.” ~ 2 Corinthians 5:17


"Snow Heart", copyright 2011 Shannon M. Herren, All Rights Reserved

"Snow Heart", copyright 2011 Shannon M. Herren, All Rights Reserved

Eph 2:10 For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand so that we would walk in them.
Published in: on Saturday, January 15, 2011 at 3:41 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://smhphotographs.wordpress.com/2011/01/15/52-11-week-two-january-9-15/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

