52-’11 / Week Twelve / March 20 – March 26

I don’t know all the reasons why, but I certainly have an affinity to things from time gone by–old things, forgotten things, neglected things. Given a wide open road and schedule, I gravitate toward small old towns, forgotten and neglected buildings, cemeteries and beautiful headstones from time past. Nostalgia…melancholy…memories…yesteryear…these are words that affect me and inspire me. Roy (my husband) is an amazing history buff. He knows about wars and battles and strategy and machinery. I’m inclined to wonder about the people; how they lived, what they thought, wonder about their feelings and their faith. I like the personal stories, the diaries. All that plays together, I suppose, toward my fascination of old, neglected things.

I look at the subject of today’s image, and so many others like it, and wonder about the stories, the families, the good and the bad memories hidden there. I am captivated.

"Once A Home", copyright 2011 Shannon M Herren, All Rights Reserved

"Once A Home", copyright 2011 Shannon M Herren, All Rights Reserved

I edited this image using the infrared film effect.

Published in: on Saturday, March 26, 2011 at 7:42 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://smhphotographs.wordpress.com/2011/03/26/52-%e2%80%9911-week-twelve-march-20-%e2%80%93-march-26/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Rob’s Scripture: 2 Cor 5:1 5:1 For we know that if our earthly house, this tent, is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens. NKJV


Leave a Reply

