Be ’12 — February

I know — could I be any later posting this? I know I’m over-committed right now. But what I’ve come to realize, brought to my attention in several not-so-subtle ways, is that I need to re-prioritize. There are a couple of commitments that are sucking the life right out of me through mental and physical stress, pressure to perform socially and skillfully, and confrontational situations that I simply have no desire to endure any longer. I am working on weeding out those things so I can focus on the things that bring me satisfaction and joy even though they too may require hard work and stress of a different sort. I am eager to see how the Lord uses this time in my life to bring about positive personal change.

Oakland Cemetery-019

My February project was a trip to Oakland Cemetery in Atlanta. I have been photographing in this beautiful park-like cemetery for many years. There are new things to discover every time you visit, any time of year.There were seven of us, including some who have never been there, and some who had never shot in a cemetery before. I think we all learned some technical things and some skill things. Most of all, we had a great time in a great place–together.

My personal goals for this Be ’12 were to shoot in all manual all day, and to us only prime lenses. I mostly used my 35mm, which, with my DX sensor, is roughly equivalent to a 50mm. I am please with a number of the images, and I achieved both goals.

20120225-Oakland Cemetery-054

"20120225-Oakland Cemetery-054", copyright 2012 Shannon M Herren, All Rights Reserved

20120225-Oakland Cemetery-097

"20120225-Oakland Cemetery-097", copyright 2012 Shannon M Herren, All Rights Reserved

20120225-Oakland Cemetery-129

"20120225-Oakland Cemetery-129", copyright 2012 Shannon M Herren, All Rights Reserved

20120225-Oakland Cemetery-049

"20120225-Oakland Cemetery-049", copyright 2012 Shannon M Herren, All Rights Reserved

"20120225-Oakland Cemetery-142", copyright 2012 Shannon M Herren, All Rights Reserved

"20120225-Oakland Cemetery-142", copyright 2012 Shannon M Herren, All Rights Reserved

One of my personal favorites of the day was actually on the “long” way home through some of downtown. I saw this sign, and the impact of the recent announcements from Kodak made this a “stop right here real quick” moment.

"A Last Kodak Moment", copyright 2012 Shannon M Herren, All Rights Reserved

"A Last Kodak Moment", copyright 2012 Shannon M Herren, All Rights Reserved

Do you have a Be ’12 for February? Are you working on any personal projects? Please feel free to post a link to your site in the comments. I would love to see your work.

(Watch for Be ’12 — March to be posted in the next few days.)

Blessings!

Shannon \o/

Published in: on Tuesday, March 20, 2012 at 7:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://smhphotographs.wordpress.com/2012/03/20/be-12-february-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

